Unfolding NEW PATTERNS
Fashion Knowledge
Generative Art, Randomness & Feeling Lucky with Maya Man - E16
0:00
-24:55

Generative Art, Randomness & Feeling Lucky with Maya Man - E16

Host Beata Wilczek calls on leading minds, from researchers and technologists to designers, artists and activists, to look at the emerging fashion futures and digital cultures in changing times.

Do you remember getting lucky on the web? Your memories might drift towards the now-deceased "I'm Feeling Lucky" button on Google. Or do you ever feel that leap of faith, those serendipitous moments of glory, when you find something perfect online, but you didn't really search for it? Our podcast guest today ponders these questions a lot, delving into the whimsy and wonder of digital serendipity.

Maya Man is an artist focused on contemporary identity culture on the internet. Her websites, generative series, installations, textiles, and social media posts examine dominant narratives around femininity, authenticity, and the performance of self online. She is the creator of the browser extension Glance Back and the Art Blocks curated collection FAKE IT TILL YOU MAKE IT.

"When I contemplate randomness in the online realm, these chance encounters and the narrative surrounding the 'I'm Feeling Lucky' button come to mind. Being online has now evolved into a state where we often find ourselves trapped within ecosystems created by platforms like Instagram or TikTok.

What the 'I'm Feeling Lucky' button symbolized to me in the past was the act of visiting a specific website, acting as a portal to a distinct online destination that the search engine guided you to. Nowadays, this experience has largely been replaced by algorithms on TikTok and Instagram that aim to show you content they think you want to see based on your past interactions, gathered over hours and minutes of screen time.

As a result, my time spent online feels much less random than it did in the earlier days, and it now seems more predetermined by algorithms that have learned my preferences and tendencies as I navigate these platforms."

- Maya Man
Source: Maya Man

She has exhibited internationally at bitforms, NYC; SOOT, Tokyo; Vellum, Los Angeles; Power Station of Art, Shanghai; and Feral File, online. Her work has been featured in Art in America, Forbes, Zora Zine, Outland, Refinery29, and more. Maya holds Bachelor of Arts degrees in Computer Science and Media Studies from Pomona College and an MFA in Media Art from UCLA.

What does it mean to be lucky and unlucky in the online world?

"So much of what I've been experiencing recently is the realization that I have the power to decide whether I feel lucky about something. It became prominent during the creation of 'I'm Feeling Lucky', is my appreciation for finding meaning in randomness and allowing myself to embrace feelings of luck. When my computer generates something, like a sentence that feels relevant and comforting to me, I acknowledge that I programmed the computer to do so. However, I permit myself to imagine it as a stroke of luck, allowing it to provide me with comfort. This shift has been quite liberating. I've developed attachments to certain numbers, like 26 or 47, and when I encounter them in the world, I allow myself to feel lucky. I see them as signs of luck instead of dismissing them as mere randomness."

- Maya Man

Listen on Spotify, Apple Podcasts, and SoundCloud, or watch on YouTube.

Host: Beata Wilczek
Guest: Maya Man
Music: SKY H1
Production: Julia Kąkolewska


Has this Fashion Knowledge podcast ignited a fresh perspective or aha moment for you? Join the discussion! Share your observations and questions below and engage with our community.

0 Comments
Unfolding NEW PATTERNS
Fashion Knowledge
This is Fashion Knowledge. Join Beata Wilczek, founder and research director at Unfolding Strategies, a fashion consultancy and edu lab for fashion in web3 and her guests to discover new and brave voices in fashion innovation, design, research, and education. Tune in and learn about Just, Sustainable, and Digital Fashion Futures, straight from the Unfolding Strategies headquarters in Berlin and beyond.